AATT Norman Itzkowitz Short Story Award

AATT is pleased to announce the Norman Itzkowitz Turkish Short Story Award.

Norman Itzkowitz (May 6, 1931- January 20, 2019), Emeritus Professor of Near Eastern Studies at Princeton University, was one of the most original scholars of the Near East and wrote numerous pioneering works on the classical period of the Ottoman Empire and on the modern Turkish Republic. Some of his books include: The Ottoman Empire and Islamic Tradition (1972); Mübadele: An Ottoman-Russian Exchange of Ambassadors (1970), co-written with Prof. Max Mote; translations of Halil İnalcık’s The Ottoman Empire: The Classical Age; Immortal Atatürk, and Turks and Greeks: Neighbors in Conflict, both co-written with Prof. Vamık Volkan. He also finished and edited Professor Lewis Thomas’s Elementary Turkish (1967) and A Study of Naima (1972).

Two prizes of $250 each will be awarded to the two best short stories in Modern Turkish language written by graduate or undergraduate students whose works will compete in two categories: beginner/intermediate or advanced proficiency level. 


Conditions of Entry:

  • Applicants should currently be enrolled in a degree program at an institution of higher education in North America. Graduate students, graduating seniors, and undergraduates are all welcome to participate.
  • Applicants must be non-native speakers of Turkish. Individuals who graduated from a high school or university in Turkey, Azerbaijan or from a Turkish-language university elsewhere are not eligible. Heritage speakers whose secondary and post-secondary education has taken place in North America are welcome to compete.
  • Applicants should have a history of Turkish Language classes (at least two semesters) taken at an institution of higher education in North America.
  • Applicants’ category in the competition (beginner/intermediate or advanced) will be assessed by the jury.


Rules of Submission:

  • The short story can deal with any subject and must be written in Modern Turkish.
  • It must be the original work of the applicant only.
  • It should not have been previously published (including on social media), and not have been submitted as coursework.
  • Each short story must have one author only.
  • All short stories should have a minimum of 200 words and a maximum of 2,000 words.
  • Only one submission per entrant is allowed and each short story should be submitted only once and may not be resubmitted in subsequent years.
  • The text should be typed with 12-point font (Times, Times New Roman, Calibri, Cambria etc.) double-spaced lines, and printed on one side only of standard letter-size paper.
  • The competitor’s name must not appear anywhere except on the entry form.
  • Relatives of the members of the Award Committee are not eligible to apply.


Submission for the AATT Norman Itzkowitz Turkish Short Story Award consists of:

  • Original text of the short story (electronically in .pdf format and as a hard copy).
  • Completed and signed entry form

Sent to: aatt.normanitzkowitzaward@gmail.com Dr. Nilüfer Hatemi

Princeton University

Department of NES

110 Jones Hall

Princeton, NJ 08544

  • Each applicant will receive an email confirming the receipt of the applicant’s story along with the application form.
  • For all questions contact AATTsecretariat@gmail.com.


The Award Committee:

  • The award will be administered by the AATT Executive Board.
  • The entries will be judged by a panel of academicians, Turkish authors, and experts in the field comprising the Award Committee.
  • Appointment of the Award Committee takes place at the AATT Board Meeting.
  • The President of the AATT and the members of the board will appoint the committee chair.
  • The chair will organize and facilitate the award committee’s work but will not take place in the grading/evaluation process.
  • The committee will consist of seven eligible members.
  • The selection of members is directly connected to the need for representation of both academia and authors of Turkish literature on the committee.
  • Members of the Award Committee must review its procedures and decide an appropriate timetable for its work as well as the evaluation criteria for the short stories submitted to the competition.
  •  At the end of each competition, at least one committee member will be rotated off and replaced. No committee member may serve for more than six consecutive terms.

The 2021 Award Committee:

Asuman Kafaoğlu-Büke Mehmet Zaman Saçlıoğlu
Ayten Alkan Sine Ergün
Burcu Karahan Tülin Kozikoğlu
Esra Özdemir Nilüfer Hatemi (chair)

The submission deadline for the prize is Friday, July 16, 2021.

Selection Process:

  • The submissions will be judged anonymously and undergo blind review.
  • The evaluation results of each committee member should reflect a rank and category-ordering of the submissions.
  • Once a decision has been made, the chairperson will announce the winner of the competition to the AATT Board.
  •  The decision will be final, and the committee will not enter into any correspondence about the results.


  • The AATT Board reserves the right not to award the prize(s) if the Award Committee does not find the submitted short stories prize worthy.
  •  The winners will receive a cash prize of $250 and the award will be mailed by the AATT Treasurer to their address on the Entry Form.
  • The copyright of each short story will remain with the author, but AATT will have the right to publish the short stories on its website and/or in its newsletter.