top of page


Past Recipients


  • Austin Dimitris Gkoulimaris (UT Austin)

  • Juliet (Jae) Weller (University of Michigan, University Wisconsin-Madison)

  • Liam Declan Savage (University of Washington)

  • Nitisha Ponnappan (NYU)   


  • Michael Barron (University of Pennsylvania)

  • Sam Breazeale (University of Michigan)


  • Liana  Malinovsky (University of Michigan)

  • Madison Maxey (Stanford University) 

  • Spencer Cook (Georgetown University)

Deadline: June 30


Click to see the flyer.


The Redhouse Prize for Best Progress in Turkish was established by the Turkish Studies Association (now the Ottoman and Turkish Studies Association) in 1991, and continue to be available annually, in North America, designated for four outstanding students who deserve public recognition.


The two Area Coordinators also act as the two-person Language Awards Committee and will oversee the annual awards in consultation with the AATT Executive Board.

Student Eligibility

Any student (graduate or undergraduate) who, in the designated academic year, completes a full-year course at any level in Modern Turkish at a university offering such courses in its regular program is eligible for nomination.  However, student eligibility is limited to a “once-in-a-lifetime” award.

Eligible Institutions

Any institution that offers regularly scheduled Turkish language instruction in the US or Canada.

Nomination Procedure

Each institution may select ONE nominee annually, judged at faculty discretion to be the student who made the most progress in Modern Turkish in the designated academic year.  The nominee’s name must be submitted, with supporting material by the deadline to the Language Awards Committee, who—with whatever consultation is necessary—will make the final choice of two recipients of the award.  The Language Awards Committee will make their final choice of two recipients no later than September 15, and the Committee will forward the information to the President of OTSA.

  • AATT will arrange for the recipients to be informed of their selection and to receive their prizes by mail or (preferably) at the OTSA Annual Meeting. 

  • The President of OTSA informs institutions of their students’ awards.

The application/nomination package must be e-mailed to: 
Subject line: Redhouse Application

Nomination Package

Although no official nomination form has been devised, the faculty nomination package must include the following:           

  • A brief letter explaining why you nominated this student

  • A cover sheet with the students name, institutional affiliation and area of study, name of course instructor[s] and department chair, and student's academic dean 

  • Writing samples and oral samples (video clips, interviews etc.) collected over the year, which demonstrate the student's progress in Turkish


bottom of page